Take My Picture   2 comments

I posted this photo on a blog several years ago, but since it’s Father’s Day I’m going to post it again . . .

At the tail end of a long and boisterous Notting Hill Carnival parade there was a bus that had picked up participants too tired to walk the entire route.  I was waiting for the crowd to clear out so that I could put my camera away when I saw the bus and this little girl at the window, watching me and still blowing her horn.  She seemed to be saying “take my picture!”.  The bus was moving, but I was able to raise my camera and take two or three shots before the moment passed.

This has always been one of my favorite photos.  It was one of those rare moments when I felt a personal connection while looking through the viewfinder.  To this day, nearly 15 years since we went to that carnival, I look at this photo and wonder what became of her life.  I hope it has been filled with good things.

Addendum:  For those unfamiliar with the Notting Hill Carnival, it is the largest street carnival in Europe, and ranks up there with similar celebrations like Mardi Gras (New Orleans) and Carnival (Rio de Janeiro).  Held over a two-day period every August in London’s Notting Hill section, it is a sight to behold . . . if you don’t mind being elbow to elbow with a million other visitors.

Posted June 19, 2011 by ~ Bruce in People

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Take My Picture

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As always, a wonderful photo … love the sparkle in her eyes!

    Kathleen Roberts

Leave a Reply

