Occupy Lancaster   2 comments

The “Occupy” movement came to our little city, only a half dozen or so blocks from my home.  How could any photographer resist?  The police didn’t seem to be too concerned, and the Bank of America security guard (who BofA brought in from Virginia) seemed mostly interested in checking out the outlet malls on Route 30 after the bank closed.  In any case, it was a peaceful scene during the time I was there.

Here are a few of the better photos that I took on Saturday afternoon.  I am not particularly interested in wide angle crowd shots.  I prefer images that tell an individual story.

 

Posted October 16, 2011 by ~ Bruce in People, Street, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Occupy Lancaster

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been skirting the edges of all the press about the Occupy movement. Not sure exactly why, but this is the first time that I spent any time looking at any pictures from the whole shebang. You did a wonderful job documenting them, and there is nothing annoying about your post. That sounds like slight praise, but from me on this particular issue it is a whole lot of high praise. -kate

    • Thanks, Kate. A camera is apolitical as long as the owner allows it to be. If the Tea Party wants to hold a rally downtown, I’ll be there too. To me, it’s simply part of documenting life in Lancaster city. The harder issue for me is when I know someone is homeless and/or dealing with some level of mental impairment, yet provides a striking image. There is such a guy who I talk to every Saturday morning and frequently give him enough money for lunch (a “fish sandwich” at McDonald’s delights him!). I’d like to photograph him but have never asked or tried. The photographer in me really wants to capture a few images, but it doesn’t pass the “feels right” test.

Leave a Reply

