Photographer Favorites, 2011   10 comments

It seems that there is no shortage of “best of” lists each year-end.  So here is my own personal contribution to that dubious phenomenon.  My favorites are almost always influenced by knowing the “back story” to a photo — people in the photo who I talked with, how many miles I walked to get the image, and so forth.  That’s why my wife occasionally says, “Really?  That one?”.  But that’s okay.  It was a good year, and a year when I actually conquered my reluctance to photograph people — and made a few new friends in the process.

And so a big thank you to all who followed my photo blog this year, and to those who ended up in my viewfinder, knowingly or not!  Peace and happiness to you in 2012.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  The first subjects I ever approached and asked if it was okay to take their pictures.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  At a “Stop the Violence” rally, sadly held for a city murder victim.  Kids like this deserve safer streets.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  A boy and his dog (named “Bumpers”) at the same “Stop the Violence” rally.

(Above) Location: Cape May, New Jersey. (Artist rendering / digitally manipulated).  Five minutes after we arrived in Cape May this past Easter weekend, I had my first “keeper” photo.

(Above) Location: Cape May, New Jersey.  Easter weekend in Cape May, NJ.  I call this one “Angel Wings”.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  At a block party on Queen Street.  Melanie immediately dubbed this one “The Kings of Queen Street”.  Perfect title.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  At the same Queen Street block party.  Man, there’s a story in those hands.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  Not a situation where I expected to hear classical music, but classical it was.  Another lesson in not judging.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  The dog’s intense stare makes the photo, in my opinion.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania. (Artist rendering / digitally manipulated).  I was so pleased with the photos that I bought this young man a coffee.  Good music, too.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  Kids are rarely camera-shy.  Add pastel dresses and pigtails and you’ve got an instant “keeper”.

(Above) Location: Lancaster city, Pennsylvania.  The local newspaper ran an article on the rundown condition of the train station.  I went to check it out and found symmetry and great architecture, too.

(Above) Location: Cape Coast, Ghana.  The guide took us to the “door of no return” through which slaves bound for the west were led in chains.  Everyone else was photographing the door.  I photographed this man.  It was a no-brainer.

(Above) Location: Cape Coast, Ghana.  Beauty and poverty converge at an African beach.

(Above) Location: Paris, France.  Most people go to the Louvre to look at the world’s greatest single collection of art.  This guy read a book instead.

(Above) Location: Paris, France.  The clock was nice from the outside, but magnificent from the inside.  All it took was waiting for the right subject to silhouette.

(Above) Location: Versailles Palace, near Paris, France.  I’ve always been drawn to repeating geometric shapes, like columns or arches.  The tile floor sealed the deal.

(Above) Location: Versailles Palace, near Paris, France. (Artist rendering / digitally manipulated).  Loved the shapes, but the December colors were muted.  So I cranked up the color saturation and diffused the background.  As my son said, “That’s not the kind of photo you usually take.”

(Above) Location: Paris, France. (Artist rendering / digitally manipulated).  Nice photo as taken, but I like it better as a desaturated black and white with a slight pastel addition.

(Above) Location: Paris, France.  We arrived at the cathedral too late to photograph it, but the street lamps made fine subjects.

Posted December 29, 2011 by ~ Bruce in Uncategorized

10 responses to “Photographer Favorites, 2011

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful collection! I always enjoy seeing your work. The captions complete the enjoyment.

  2. Bruce,
    Thank you for sharing your incredible photographs. As I look at each one, I can imagine being there in that moment.
    I look forward to 2012!

  3. Love them all, but the Cape May sky and the alert dog are hard to beat! Keep up the great work and thanks for sharing. Happy New Year to all! SHawn

    • Thanks so much, Shawn! I can’t choose a single “best” either, so I’ll just keep on shooting and let others decide which are the favorites! I hope you have a great 2012!

  4. Wow!!!!
    Truly great photography!!!

  5. Bruce – I can feel the emotion in your photos. I adore your work. You are an amazing artist-

    Ann Silvonek-Dempsey
    • Ann, it’s great to hear from you! Thanks for the comment, and btw I found that birthing / berthing photo that you wanted a copy of. Let me know where to send it . . .

Leave a Reply

